Love You Forever

“I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
as long as I’m living
my baby you’ll be.”

Love You Forever by Robert Munsch

Are they familiar? Well, these lines are taken from a children’s book titled “Love You Forever” which was published way back in 1986.

This book is very popular but do you know that the story is rooted from a very sad episode of the writer’s life?

Robert Munsch, the author of the book first created a song with the lines above as lyrics. The song was made for his two babies who were born dead. The lines lingered in his head but he can’t sing it until he came in this certain university to tell stories. An idea flashed across his mind. Perhaps, he could develop a story with the song.

And so “Love You Forever” was born. It is a story of the evolving relationship between a boy and his mother. The book started when the mother gave birth to the boy. She carried him in her arms, rocked him back and forth while singing… Some pages from Love You Forever

“I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
as long as I’m living
my baby you’ll be.”

Munsch’s regular publisher thought that the book is not actually for children thus the author ended up doing the book with another publisher. Then one day, this publisher called him and reported that the book is selling very well in retirement communities in Arizona. At that time, kids are illegal in those retirement communities which means that old people are buying the books for old people! In fact it became a big hit worldwide that it was listed fourth in the 2001 Publishers Weekly All-Time Bestselling Children’s Books list for paperbacks.

Actually, it’s not a big wonder why the book has become so famous across the globe. Although the story is so simple, it was able to capture the hearts of its readers children and adults alike.

This is one book that every child will really treasure till he has become old.🙂

6 Responses to “Love You Forever”


  1. 1 Kandra February 24, 2009 at 4:04 am

    I love this book. It was the first book that I ever read. It has great meaning to it!! Lots of love for the book….

  2. 2 jenny March 26, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    i read it when i was like 7 or six and it is true i still tresure i and remember it, i used to love reading it…. well if i still had the book i would still read itbut yeah it is a great book, real beutifull story.

  3. 3 Kalaina August 30, 2009 at 7:22 am

    My mother read this book to me almost every night when i was a child.

    I’m pregnant with my first, and it’s a boy! we just recently found the book that i had when i was little. I plan on reading this to my baby every night.

  4. 4 lia August 31, 2009 at 6:51 am

    i luv this book i read it when i was in 1st or 2nd grade. i luvv the book :] and the meaning to it was so great i can read it forever and not get tired . i wish i had the book. :]

  5. 5 hsm biggest fan :-) January 17, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I HAVE This book & i love it!!
    its so cute!!
    aww!! its adorable thank you 4 ur information


  1. 1 My son is officially an adult today « Gayle’s Tales - Family, Friends, Fun Trackback on August 13, 2008 at 12:56 am

Leave a Reply

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow Her MALDITA-ness on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 148 other followers

Want more?

Archives

Follow Me

add me on facebook
ask me on formspring
follow me on twitter

My Tweets

Sali Na! Join the Pinoy Wordpress Bloggers Community!

Who is Reading This

Where are you from

Blog Stats

  • 300,902 hits

Vital Statistics

readers online


My blog is worth $14,678.04.
How much is your blog worth?